Skip to content

Right out of handmade heaven: eco-friendly slippers by Wooly Baby

februari 2, 2012


This post is in English only as the main subject is an interview with American mom and designer Josie Marsh who I was in touch with after discovering these new treasures for Oskar at Etsy. He’s been wearing his Wooly Baby slippers since last week and received a lot of compliments already. Not only their great look made me decide to buy them, but also the fact that they are handmade from upcycled materials. Great looking, warm and eco-friendly: a must-have!

Josie & her daughter © Signature Brandywine - April 2010

I contacted Josie Marsh of Wooly Baby to find out more about her designs and brand.

Can you introduce yourself and tell more about your background?

“Hi, I’m Josie, the owner and designer behind Wooly Baby slippers. I do not have a design background. I have a manufacturing engineering degree and worked in various corporate engineering positions before I left to stay home with my baby. My creative entrepreneurial side comes from growing up with hippy parents who ‘lived off the land’ on a small farm in rural West Virginia. There we learned to grow and make lots of things.”

When and how did you came up with the idea to start Wooly Baby?
“When my daughter was almost one and beginning to pull up, I wanted some wool, high-topped, leather-bottomed slippers for her. I couldn’t find any commercially, so I decided to make my own. My mom had made me a wool diaper cover from a sweater which gave me the idea to use felted wool sweaters for slippers.”

How did Wooly Baby develop and what are your future ambitions?
“I started by making a few pair for my friends and then listed 5 pair on Etsy. I had my first sale within a couple of weeks and grew from there. I always listen closely to my customers to know where improvements and changes are needed… my slippers are quite different than when I started! I’d like to continue to grow my business, but I just take it one step at a time as I am learning it all as I go!”

Where do the materials you use come from and is ‘eco’ also your way of living?
“Yes, we definitely live ‘eco’ lives. My husband bike commutes to work for much of the year. We grow a big organic garden, cook a lot, use environmentally friendly cleaners, reuse everything, buy locally when possible, and try to live environmentally low impact lives in general. Until recently, I combed thrift stores to find all of my materials. I have since found a warehouse in NYC that sorts thrift store and donation center left-overs and I buy all my wool sweaters and leather apparel there. My materials are 100% pre-used.”

How can people buy your designs?
“Right here! www.woolybaby.etsy.com

Anything else you would like to share?
“Thank you for this opportunity and for all of you out there who allow me to have such a fun job!”

Josie’s slippers are also available for adults.
Check out her shop!

3 reacties leave one →
  1. februari 2, 2012 9:23 pm

    Thank you for this feature, Kirstin!

  2. februari 2, 2012 10:18 pm

    You are welcome! 🙂

  3. februari 5, 2012 12:41 pm

    Reblogged this on Kiki's Collage and commented:

    Baby talk 😉
    From my other blog OSKAR en ik

Geef een reactie

